Port of San Diego Welcomes Department of Transportation’s National Port Summit

Contact: Marguerite Elicone (619) 686-6281 - Published on .

thumb_doleskyline300Port leaders from throughout the United States will be convening in San Diego on February 4 and 5 for the Department of Transportation's National Port Summit. The summit will be held at the San Diego Convention Center and will feature remarks by Acting Maritime Administrator David T. Matsuda and a town hall-style meeting led by Secretary of Transportation Ray LaHood.

Port of San Diego President and Chief Executive Officer Charles D. Wurster will welcome officials at a morning session on Feb. 4 at the San Diego Convention Center, where three panel presentations will take place. Topics include National Freight Policy and Planning, Shifting to a More Environmentally Sustainable Transportation System and System Infrastructure Requirements.

On Friday, Feb. 5, Secretary LaHood will discuss challenges and opportunities in marine transportation in a town hall-style discussion.

The Port of San Diego will host a harbor tour following Secretary LaHood's discussion. The tour will give summit attendees an up-close view into the Port of San Diego's operations.

The National Port Summit will provide a forum for a comprehensive discussion on the issues facing the nation's port system. A vital lifeline linking the United States and its territories to other nations, the nation's system of ports serves as a main link for sustaining and improving the economic prosperity of communities within the United States. Port leaders are rallying to have the port system recognized as a distinct and vital coastal and waterway resource that requires protection and preservation at the local, regional and national levels. This includes developing legislation to protect ports, as well as designating funds for vital port infrastructure and transportation projects.

Creative Commons LicenseThis public website's original content and documents, provided by the Port of San Diego, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License unless otherwise noted.